Living in a Microwave Society

In the late 1940’s, Percy Spencer was experimenting with a new vacuum tube called a magnetron while doing research for Raytheon Corporation. Out of this experiment came a household appliance that many kitchens sport. 

The microwave. 

The microwave does for us in minutes what takes more minutes to do on a stove top or in the oven. It nukes our food and our liquids. It cooks. It reheats. It thaws. With a microwave, last minute meals are not a big deal. Forgot to take the ground beef out to thaw? No problem! It used to take all day in the refrigerator, but with the microwave you can have that done in less than 10 minutes. This is especially useful if you are terrible at planning ahead. 

Microwaves have not only removed the need to plan ahead, they have removed the need to wait. There is no need for patience. Health risks of using a microwave aside, this is not entirely a bad thing. 

However

Yes, however….

Our need for fast meals seems to be spilling over into other areas of our lives. We are living in a society of people who do not like to wait. We don’t want to wait for dinner, so we have microwaves, fast food and drive throughs. If we go to a sit down restaurant, chances are someone is irritated because the service is a little slow. (as a side note, I was in a restaurant a few months ago with the following sign: If you want a fast meal, we will gladly give you directions to McDonald’s, Burger King, Taco Bell, etc. If you want a good meal, be patient) We don’t want to wait for marriage for sex. Why should we? We can do it now. We don’t want to wait in line at the bank. (another side note: you don’t have to wait. There’s an app for that) We want to know the sex of our babies, NOW. There’s no waiting!

Slowly, we have become Veruca Salt, from Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. “I want a ____________ and I want it now!” 

How terribly sad. 

I fall into the trap of a microwave society. I found out the sex of 3 of our 4 babies before they were born. I use the microwave a little too much, I plan for things a little too little. I had sex before marriage. I hate to wait!

Society lies. It tells you that you don’t need to wait because you can have it now. When I was pregnant with my 4th baby, we decided that we would wait until she was born to find out if she was a boy or a girl. I will never forget hearing “It’s a girl!” when she was born. Many  people tell me that it’s exciting to hear it at 20 weeks pregnant too. I don’t disagree, but until you have waited nine months to hear it, you just don’t know how much sweeter it is.

 

Our food is better…. when we wait. Our memories are better… when we wait.

I know that many will disagree with me. That’s okay. If we all agreed with each other, life would be SO boring. 🙂 As for me…. my ground beef is thawing in the fridge.

At least for today.

Agree? Disagree? Have we been ruined living in a microwave society?

Remember when it was a Material World?  

Leave a Reply

