Tools and Prayers

My husband and I have been spending a lot of time, and money, at home improvement stores lately. We’ve had to put off some home repairs for several years. We had a good start at them, but then life got in the way; he lost his job, I got pregnant, my brother died, I had a baby. You know, stuff like that. 🙂 

Some of our repairs are pretty straightforward and simple. New lights. Have I ever mentioned how scary it is to turn on a light and have it spark and smoke and go out? Ha, yeah, it is. So we have replaced lights, installed shelving, fixed a broken lock. Right now, those repairs are never ending!

Our bath tub faucet is leaking. Through a little lot of research, I’m pretty sure it’s the Moen carriage that needs to be replaced. From what I read from homeowners and plumbers alike, it’s NOT going to be an easy fix. It seems that even plumbers don’t like working on a Moen and recommended an upgrade to a Delta. 

I was thinking about going down to Lowe’s, finding someone in charge and asking them to fix the faucet. It would just be easier (on me) that way. 

What’s wrong with that picture? They must have the ability to do it. They work in a home improvement store after all!

Yeah, I’m totally kidding. I know it doesn’t work that way. Besides, I like to learn things and I will not acquire ANY new knowledge if someone else just comes in and does it for me!

Why then… why???? do we pray to God like that?

“Dear God, please take my craving for food away.”

“Dear God, can you fix my financial mess? Yes, again.” 

“Dear God, can you make me nice? Take away my bad attitude.”

Can I get an amen? Do you know what I mean?

Yes, of course He CAN do that. He most likely will not, but he CAN. If He did, however, what would we learn? Would we learn to control our finances, be nice to everyone, or to not eat the bad stuff? Nope. That probably would not happen. 

God WILL, however, give each and every one of us the tools to curb our cravings, be wise financial stewards or treat others kindly. He can help us with any of our issues, but sometimes it will take a lot of work and uncomfortable-ness on our part. Most of the time it’s not going to be quick, it’s not going to be easy, but we WILL acquire strength and knowledge through Him. 

Just like the guy at Home Depot gives us the tools for our home repairs, God gives us the tools for our life repair. The big difference is that God will give it to us for free. It just costs a bit of faith and trust. The cost at Home Depot or Lowe’s? Well, I don’t even want to talk about it. 

Leave a Reply

