Little Monkey Fairy Tales

I entertained a tired little girl with my horrible singing today. It went something like this:

5 little monkeys, jumping on the bed

One fell off and bumped his head. 

Mama called the doctor and the doctor said 

“No more monkeys jumping on the bed”

4 Little monkeys jumping on the bed

One fell off and bumped his head

Mama called the doctor and the doctor said 

“What did I tell you last time? NO MORE MONKEYS JUMPING ON THE BED!”

3 Little monkeys jumping on the bed

One fell off and bumped his head

Mama called the doctor and the doctor said 

“What? Were you playing on Facebook or Farmville or something? PAY ATTENTION!”

2 Little monkeys jumping on the bed

One fell off and bumped his head

Mama called the doctor and the doctor said 

“That’s it! If you call me again, I’m reporting you to Child services and they will take ALL your monkeys away!”

One little monkey jumping on the bed

He fell off and bumped his head

Mama said

“I’m not calling the doctor, he hasn’t done jack squat all the other times”.

As I finished, I realized I am my father. He used to tell me crooked fairy tales, before crooked fairy tales was a book. We could never get a straight, as it was written, story out of him. 

That little, tired girl giggled and giggled though, just as I used to do. 🙂 I see a tradition here.

 

One thought on “Little Monkey Fairy Tales

  1. So funny. My husband and my daughter used to go round and round cause when he’d read her a bedtime story, I would inevitably hear, “that’s NOT what happened!” or he’d rewrite Christmas songs and shed get so mad…lol…I miss those days.

Leave a Reply

