And then… there’s this

I love my large family. I never dreamed I would have 1 child, much less 5 times that many. I did though! I really did! Charlee was the surprise we never knew we wanted and I do not regret her joining our family one little bit. 

With each additional child, our house, budget and wallets got a little smaller, but you  know what they say, the love (and stress) grew bigger. 🙂 I’m kidding, sort of. 

Each time I have mentioned the possibility of moving, my kids are dead set against it. Even though there is not a lot of extra room, and they have to share, they like it here. This is the house they came home to after they were born. They love their friends and we love our neighbors. They’ve said they would rather give up the extras to stay here. (When I say it’s a small  house, it really is.  Around 1200 sq feet for 7 people, 3 are adults and 4 are children.) 

My mom grew up in a family of eight, although the youngest brothers joined the family when she was in her mid teens. I  remember her commenting that she only had two children, because she wanted to be able to give us everything she didn’t get when she was younger. She didn’t want us to have hand me downs. When I bring that up now, she doesn’t remember saying it. Of course I think my memory is better. 

While I want my kids to have everything their hearts desire, I also know it’s not possible. I do teach them to work for it and save if there is something they really want. One of my kids is really good at saving towards a goal. Ahem, some of the others are good at dreaming. 😉 So while I want them to have everything they want, I also want them to know they can’t always get it from me. 

I have read comments from people who were part of large families growing up. They are kind of split on whether it was a good experience or not. 

Found this here:

As the middle of five kids, I can speak from the CHILD’s perspective and NOT the parent’s here….which in the end, really matters. My life was filled with leftovers. Left over patience, left over gifts, left over clothing, left over attention, and left over love. Whatever was left. Because let’s face it, dedicating the greater portion of your time/love/energy goes to God, then your husband, then your kids. In that order. I was reared in a Christian home and thankful for such, but I can tell you without hesitation, my parents were not Charles and Carolyn Ingalls. I love them, they did the best they could, but the nature of the beast living in a big family is that you have to roll with crowd and hope for the best. So Gert, I would rather you NOT feel sorry for me because I have 2 kids but rather because I was one of five children.

Now a comment like this just makes me sad. I much like reading comments from people who grew up in large families and love it. 🙂 I would be devastated if any of my kids thought their childhood was terrible because of the size of their family. I sure wish my mom had had more than just two, but I love my childhood. I had great parents and an awesome brother. 

So what say you? Did you grow up in a large or small family and love it? Did you grow up in a large or small family and hate it? Would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “And then… there’s this

  1. Wow, what an interesting question! I grew up in a family of 3 kids. I currently have 8 kids. My first child was born when I was 30 years old, my 8th when I was 42 (so I’ve got you beat on the “late in life” kiddos.:-).)
    I definitely do feel pulled in many directions, but pray hard that our children will feel they had a good childhood. Certainly our kids love each other and are one another’s best friends.

Leave a Reply

