Summer time

Do you know what I am looking forward to most now that it is summer time? 

For three solid months, I will  not have to hear “no school today?” when my children and I are out in public during regularly scheduled school time. When I say “they’re homeschooled”, I get the look. The one that says “You. Homeschool? Right” Yeah. I can hardly believe it myself. 

I’ve tinkered with the idea of homeschooling since my 13 year old started school, but it was something I never thought I could do. Now that I have lived through the first year of homeschooling, I’m still questioning if I can do it. 😉 

I am really not qualified for this. I mean,  I’m “just” a mom. I’m pretty smart and I always scored high on IQ tests, so I certainly know my stuff. Unfortunately, I am more of an “I’ll do it myself, rather than teach you” type person. It is hard for me to sit down and actually TEACH from a curriculum. I can teach my kids to cook, bake, make crafts, because those are all done by working side by side and demonstrations and all of a sudden  they catch on and we move on. School work doesn’t always work like that. I also really, really like it when my kids work on their own and ask me questions as needed. My kids don’t work like that though. 🙂  

So, here I am, again, in a position that I feel completely unqualified for, but for various reasons, we made a decision as a family that this was the best option for us, for now. This year has been kind of a “stick our toes in the water and go knee deep if a shark doesn’t bite our toes off” kind of year. We’ve had to find our new normal. As if homeschooling wasn’t enough, my brother passed away, my husband started a new job and we had a baby. So we have had a year with a lot of changes and adjustments and new normals. Right when we figured out one new normal, we were hit with another one.

It’s my hope that the next year is a little less exciting. Please remind me of this when I come back and say how bored I am. Yes, homeschooling moms of 5 get bored. They I really do. 

So yes, I homeschool, no I’m not qualified, but by gosh, we will figure this out eventually. 

What are you looking forward to this summer?

One thought on “Summer time

  1. Pingback: Blink Blink Blink | This Treasured Life

Leave a Reply

