Feeling Needy and other first world problems ;)

I am not one to write, edit, re-write, delete, refine, etc.I write off the cuff and then I hit publish. Why? Because I want to be transparent and real and in the moment. I was a bit disappointed when I discovered that a popular blogger that I follow, would write her material weeks in advance. I understand WHY she does, but I was disappointed because I always felt like she was a kindred spirit. I wasn’t the only one going through what I was currently dealing with. 

As a result, my writing isn’t always pretty, nice or grammatically correct. It is real though. 

What’s my “first world problem” for this week? (BTW- I really hate that phrase. HATE IT)

I’m feeling needy. I want someone to notice me. I want someone to look at me and say “I see how hard you are working. I see how patient you are with your baby. I like how you spoke nicely to Piper, even when she doesn’t speak nicely to you. Thank you for getting dinner on the table for your family every. single. night, even though it’s a struggle. Thank you for teaching your children, even though it’s not what you really want to do. It’s amazing how I always have clean clothes in my drawer. I see you. I notice. You are not invisible”.

What I normally get is:

  • I don’t feel good.
  • I’m tired. 
  • I don’t want to do school work.
  • I don’t like this (what we are having for dinner)
  • Can I? Can we? Can you?
  • Where is my t-shirt? I put it in the laundry! (and you are a failure because you didn’t wash it) and oh, look! Here it is! Not in the laundry. Hanging right where you told me it would be if it had been in the laundry. 

My mama has often told me that motherhood is a thankless job. I believe her. My kids are great kids, but they are kids. Their thanks won’t come until they are stuck right where I am right now. 

So far all you mamas doing a thankless job? THANK YOU. I see you. I notice. I appreciate every single thing you are doing. The things that are unseen and the things that are seen. I know what it’s like. I want to (((((((((((hug))))))))) you and thank you. Really. 

 

One thought on “Feeling Needy and other first world problems ;)

  1. Sweet friend, even though we still not have connected in ways that are traditional I feel your heart so often and pray for you constantly. You are amazing and there are many who would not be able to do what you do. Motherhood is a thankless job but we do it because we love them. Rock on with your bad self girlfriend!!! You are a rock-star and you are noticed and you are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

