I lied…. well, sort of

I decided that what I wrote yesterday was not entirely accurate. I do enjoy entertaining and I do enjoy being entertained by others. If they get me. 

What does it mean to “get me”?

It means that you know I have 5 kids, a husband, a cat and 2 dogs in this small house and you don’t even think about it. 

It means that when you say you are coming over and I say “how long will you stay?” you are not insulted or put off. 

It means that I can look at you and say “Well, it’s time for you to go now”, and you don’t take it personally, you know that I have reached my limits and you are okay with it. 

It means that you know me and you love my idiosyncrasies. It means that you will come back again and again, because those weird little things about me don’t scare you or bother you at all! Most times, you will just laugh and say “see you later, friend. I am so glad that we got together” and then you will go. 

A friend of mine stopped by early this morning and I was okay with it. We have known each other since the third of fourth grade. We can go long periods of time without talking to each other, but when we do, it’s like no time has passed. We talked for about half an hour and I felt comfortable enough with her to say “I’m sorry, but you have to go now, because we have to leave in just a bit”. I knew she wouldn’t take it personally. I am not fretting or worrying that she was offended. I know she gets me.

I share this kind of relationship with very few people. These are the people that know all my secrets, because I am not afraid to tell them anything. I don’t worry that they will think my house is too messy, too small, or wonder why my hair is blowing a zillion different ways or that the kids are running around the house like wild banshees. They don’t care that I have more kids than friends. 🙂 They know who I am, and they love me in spite of who I am. These type of friends will say “I’m coming over and I am only staying for an hour”. 

So I do like to entertain. I just have to feel like the entertainee gets me and loves me anyway. 🙂 

 

 

Leave a Reply

