A Year of Change

A year ago

Do you think things can change in a year? I am going to go with a “YES!”

When I am faced with an obstacle that seems insurmountable, I am tempted to think “Ugh! This will never change. I will always be stuck here, things will never get better, we are doooooooomed”. We rarely ever are.

If 2012 was any indication, things change. Sometimes they change for the better, sometimes they change for the worse, and sometimes they just change… no better, no worse.

January 2012: My husband was making pretty good money at his job. He wasn’t thrilled with it, there were problems for sure, but we were finally ahead. We were even planning some family vacations!

April 2012: He was laid off of his job. With unemployment, we were only bringing home 50% of what he was making. UGH. We still went on a previously planned beach trip.

May 2012: Just a short time after being laid off, he found another job. It was in a different field, and he was making 1/3 less than previously, but we were hopeful! Then we found out that we were expecting a baby. Um, wow! How does that happen? Never mind, I think I already know!

June 2012: School was out, the kids were already driving me batty. One day, Piper, full of pranks, yelled “DADDY’S HOME!” in the middle of the day. I rolled my eyes and said “right”. He was. The job he had found had completed their orders and no longer needed him. While I didn’t cry the first time, I went into the bathroom and cried this time. It seemed…. hopeless.

Summer 2012: Somehow we managed to go to the beach twice, once as a family, once for our anniversary. We spent a week camping. We went hiking a lot. In between looking for jobs, we just did the family thing. All those things we had hoped to get accomplished while he was unemployed (household repairs, etc) didn’t happen, but the summer was MEMORABLE!

September 2012: We made the decision to pull our kids from traditional school. We started them in a home school program that is overseen by a public school teacher. Chad started a new job, making as much money as he was originally making, just two days after the kids started school. Fortunately he was able to go to my ultrasound before he started his job.  Less than a week later, my brother passed away.

October 2012: After a whirlwind 2 weeks that felt like months, my mom, dad, 3 younger kids and I traveled to San Diego, CA for my brother’s military service. When I said I wanted to go places, this isn’t exactly what I meant!

November – December 2012: Things finally settled down, we got into a routine for homeschooling, I was very pregnant. (as of January 2013, I still am!), We celebrated Christmas, New Year’s, Thanksgiving and birthdays.

January 2013: So here we are, one year later and EVERYTHING seems like it has changed. What was normal in January 2012 is not normal in January 2013.

So don’t ever look at your situation and think it won’t change or that change is hopeless, because in the span of a year, your life can look very different. I never thought that this is what my life would look like in 2013, but it is. Although many things changed last year, I don’t feel like it was a horrible year. Yes, some bad things happened, but great things happened too, and I have come to realize that it is unrealistic to have some good without some bad. It happens that way.

I don’t know what 2013 will bring… I would like to request no deaths or pregnancies though… but I am looking forward to seeing how things have changed in January 2014.

How did your life change from 2012 to 2013? 

One thought on “A Year of Change

  1. I don’t think I knew what was going on with your kids’ school changes. I knew about the other stuff, and altogether I’d venture to say that in 2012 you changed almost everything that can be changed, LOL! That’s a lot of changes! We had a baby and moved in 2012, but we seem to have done those things a lot so it didn’t seem too bad. Or maybe I’m just too tired to notice 😉

Leave a Reply

