Perspective – Things Aren’t always What They Appear

Aw, Friday, why do you have to come at the end of the week? It gives a whole  new meaning to “Save the best for last”.

Why do I love Fridays? Because I pretend I am not going to get up early tomorrow… But I know I will.

Also, Five Minute Friday posts at the Gypsy Mama’s blog! Her prompt this week is Perspective. I get 5 minutes to write. No more. Unscripted, unedited, just writing.

Here goes:

While the Mr. was unemployed, we spent a lot of down time hiking. We hiked the same area, because there were so many trails to choose from. Every time we went there was something we hadn’t seen before. In the picture above, this was a trail we had seen many times before. As you can tell, it goes straight down and over the cliff. OBVIOUSLY. I was a little hesitant to go look over the edge of this so called cliff, because I had already slid on my bum, down one. My phone barely missed being shattered and I had a bruised bottom for weeks. So I did what any good wife would do. I sent my husband. I stood behind him shouting “Be careful! Don’t fall! I LOVE YOU, JUST IN CASE!”. In my mind, what I could see, was DANGER.

So he went ahead. He called me forward. There was nothing to be afraid of. The trail went down a little further. There was a cross, a tribute to a young man who had died. (hopefully not in that spot) The trail winded down and then it did drop steeply off. It was beautiful and peaceful. I was so glad we  he had checked it out. 😉

It just took a fresh perspective. I could have stayed on the main trail, but I might have missed beauty like this:

Things aren’t always as they appear.

Done. (and I had one minute left!)

 

10 thoughts on “Perspective – Things Aren’t always What They Appear

  1. “So I did what any good wife would do. I sent my husband” Hahaha! Love it! Sounds wonderful to spend that time hiking beautiful trails together. And I completely agree…”Things aren’t always as they appear.”

  2. Great post Amy! Beautiful pictures. I loved what you said about all it needed was a fresh perspective – you’re so right! I needed to be reminded of that today 🙂

    • Thank you. I am so thankful for community. We can all learn a fresh new perspective from each other. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

