Cup Of Noodles or Homemade Chicken Noodle?

I like quick.

I like easy.

There is a whole section of the internet geared towards saving time and I might waste some time reading that section of the internet.

We (I) want dinner like five minutes ago.

We (I) want immediate answers to our (my) prayers. NOW would be good. Yesterday would be better.

We consider it success when we pop our food in the microwave oven, pull it out and call it dinner. Likewise, I think it would be kind of cool to have a prayer machine that I could pop in my requests, wait a few minutes, and have an answer literally fall into my hands.

Veruca Salt anyone? I *might* sound like her sometimes. I don’t want to wait. I don’t want to put it in writing. “I want it noooooooooow”. (And if I don’t get the things I’m after, I’m going to screeeeeeeeeeeeeeeam)

It doesn’t work that way, does it ? (if it does, please email me at …….. KIDDING!)

Last night, I was writing my requests on paper and putting them in the microwave to see what would happen after 3 minutes pondering a microwaveable faith. I’m being serious when I say I would love to have instant answers. I don’t really do “wait” well.

I asked God “Can’t I just have the answers NOW?”.

In His infinite grace and patience, He said “Do you want Cup O’Noodles or Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup?”

Well, Cup O’Noodles ARE quick and easy. What… you just add water, then put it in the microwave for 3 minutes. They are cheap… and unhealthy… and all of a sudden completely unappealing. But if I am hungry and I want something instantly… it’s there. (not really, we don’t even own any… I swear)

Chicken Noodle Soup? Hmmmmm. But it takes so long to make. And I hate to wait. However, I love a pot of CNS.

Yes, it takes time, it takes preparation, it takes work… and a lot of patience in waiting as that aroma fills the house.

You have to dice the onions, boil the chicken, shred the chicken, cut heart shaped carrots.

Heart shaped carrots

Yes, I really do.

What do you mean you don’t? 😉

Then there is the sauteing, the boiling, adding the herbs and then the wait… oh the wait!

Time and again, though, I choose the Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup. I know it takes time and I have to be patient. The process can be painstaking, but I know the end result is worth it. 

Knowing this, why would I settle for ANYTHING instant? Instant noodles OR instant answers to my prayers?

The best things in life are not instant. They take time, prayers, patience and work.

I’ll take the homemade chicken noodle soup, Lord… and I’ll wait for an answer to my prayers too.


I love to link up with other great bloggers. I’ve linked my post up at Intentional Me and Thought Provoking Thursday.

4 thoughts on “Cup Of Noodles or Homemade Chicken Noodle?

  1. Oh yes! The Lord has been teaching me so much about waiting on Him. Your words are like warm homemade soup for my heart! Thanks friend! Swinging by from incourage.me 🙂

Leave a Reply

