When Hope Knocks

I remember the day as clearly as if it just happened yesterday. But it wasn’t yesterday. It was the summer of 2009. The days were hot and my patience was short. We were in a time of life that yielded too many bills and too little money. There didn’t seem to be an end.

Feeling strongly led by the God I serve, I had quit my job 5 months earlier to stay home with my children. There were days that I felt I must have made a mistake in hearing Him, but deep down, I knew I hadn’t.

On this day, I was feeling defeated. We were behind on our mortgage, our utilities and had medical bills up the wazoo. (What’s a wazoo, anyway?)

My kids were in the living room, running and yelling and having a good time, when the phone rang. I escaped to my room to take the call. It wasn’t good news. By the end of the conversation, I found out that our income would be reduced another $100 per month. I honestly did not know how we would survive, because we already were not making it. I asked the person on the other end to check their numbers again and they did. They insisted there was not a mistake.

“Okay, God, you have GOT to get this one. I can not take this anymore”.

At that moment, as I ended the call, the dogs started going crazy in the front room. My children came running back “Daddy’s friend is at the door!”

“Oh, brother”, I thought.

In my house, any stranger that comes to the door is “daddy’s friend”. I figured I was in just the right mood to chase away a door to door salesman.

I scooted around the dogs, the kids and the couch cushions. I peeked out the window.

Wow.

I was shocked. It WAS daddy’s friend. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t shocked because it was daddy’s friend. I was shocked because daddy’s friend had suffered the devastating loss of his beautiful wife just two days before. I could not imagine why he was standing on our porch.

I opened the door and he introduced himself. Softly I said “Yeah, yeah. I know who you are. What’s going on?” and I stepped out on the porch closing the door behind me.

Mercifully, my children did not follow me out. Maybe they knew what was about to happen and knew how sacred it would be to me.

He started telling me about how tough things were financially in his and his wife’s early marriage. There were days that they didn’t know if the gas in their car would get them close enough to work to make more money to put more gas in their car. He truly understood struggle. And worry. And the loss of hope.

He proceeded to tell me that he and another friend had just been together praying. He said “I felt strongly led by the Lord to come give this to you”. He held his hand out. I reached out to meet his and he put a hundred dollar bill in my hand.

I knew then, that we would be okay. I knew that God had sent this man to offer me hope, to show me the love of God and to say “Yes, God hears you, He is listening, He is here”.

There is no way to explain this off as a coincidence. I prefer to think of it as a gift of hope through a God-incidence. He knew. He listened. He answered my prayer.

Have you met Jennifer at Getting Down with Jesus? She is talking about God-Bumps and God-incidences on her blog today. I think you will really like her. Please go tell her hi! Click here:

16 thoughts on “When Hope Knocks

    • Thank you, Connie. I agree with you. It IS a beautiful story. It is one I often think back on, especially when I am discouraged and feeling like there is no hope. 🙂

  1. This story she writes about is one of the most amazing truths about God. God is there to help through anything. We know. May God bless you all.

  2. Oh my goodness. Did you cry tears at His faithfulness? And more tears for the faith of the beautiful man who through his loss continued to seek the Lord? I’ll remember it for a long time.

  3. Amy, I appreciated this story. It’s no coincidence that you stopped by my blog that led me to this story. If those who don’t know Him yet knew the Love He has for us in the biggest and smallest moments of life they wouldn’t be able to walk their own way. Praise His name and for His love and most certainly His Hope.

  4. Oh. Amy.

    Just hushed by this.

    I wish you could see the God-bumps up and down my arms right now!

    I am so thrilled that you’ve shared this story of God’s provision with the Getting Down With Jesus community. What a GIFT you are, I tell you … a GIFT!

    (And a terrific storyteller!)

  5. My goosebumps call me Mommy and eats almonds on my sofa while watching Sesame Street. God has blessed my socks off.

Leave a Reply

