Breathing Easy

We were just starting to breathe easy. We were still taking it slow, but after three years, we were starting to see some normalcy return to our lives.

Our bills are on time. We have no debt, except for our house. Our medical bills are current. Our credit scores have started to creep up into the normal range. Recently we even added garbage service to our household, and finally upgraded our falling apart phones.

Things were not perfect and there was a lot of stress. Late hours, working on the weekends, hours missing from paychecks. Annoyance because employees were not being treated as valuable assets to the company.

We were still breathing easy though, just because we weren’t struggling.

On Friday I even treated myself to a long needed haircut. I returned home to Chad making dinner.

I casually said “Did they give you an adjustment check?”

He quietly said “Well, yes and no”.

“What do you mean?”, I said. “They owe it to you. You earned it”.

Even quieter, with eyes so sad, he said “They gave me my final check”.

It took a minute for the words to register. Then the full weight of what he said hit me.

And I wasn’t breathing easy anymore. We weren’t breathing easy.

At all.

8 thoughts on “Breathing Easy

  1. Amy – I can see your blog now! I kept getting errors when I would try to go to the other one lately! Also, I am praying for you guys. Hugs!
    Michelle

    • You are not the only person to tell me that! I am not sure what happened. I heard that WordPress is the way to go. 🙂 thank you for your prayers. I truly feel His peace.

  2. Pingback: A Gasp of Breath « This Treasured Life

  3. Pingback: A Breath of Fresh Air | This Treasured Life

  4. Pingback: Judging Tomorrow’s “Value” on Today’s “Prices” | This Treasured Life

  5. Pingback: The Moment I Felt that my House Sucked (because I couldn’t think of a better title) | This Treasured Life

  6. Pingback: Absence and a Fonder Heart | This Treasured Life

  7. Pingback: Blink Blink Blink | This Treasured Life

Leave a Reply

