Everybody and their Stories

I am not much of a blog reader lately. Life tends to be a little busy around here. What’s busy about 5 kids, a husband, homeschooling, etc? Oh, dear. That’s another blog post in itself.

When I do read blogs, I find myself sticking with the smaller, lesser known authors. There is something I enjoy about not being one reader in a sea of many and when I comment, I like knowing that the author has probably seen what I said.

However, every once in a while I do catch a post made by a big name blogger. The other day it was this one. To be fair, I actually have no idea who Jen Hatmaker is, I just know she must be a pretty popular blogger, because she is paid to speak and travel and apparently she has her own tv show in the works. That and she has 278 comments on one post. :) I like her style though. 

So in this post, she said “Apparently no one has figured out that local teachers and leaders right under everyone’s noses can do a better job than I can. This is not false humility, trust me. Your Aunt Louise can teach the Bible better than me. Your neighbor is funnier. Your pastor is wiser. Seriously, I have no idea why this is my life.”

That one comment made me think of this song That one line, “Everybody’s got a story to tell”. Your neighbor, your daughter, a random stranger at the store, the customer service rep on the other end of the phone. Every one of these people has a story to tell. They are the most unlikely people to have a story to tell. They are not the people you would think would have a story to tell, but they do. There are stories all around us, but since they don’t come with the big name or a huge following, we tend to not listen to them. 

I am all for paying great speakers to tell me great stories and give me a new perspective on life. Some people have that incredible gift and I truly believe they should use their gift to support themselves and their families and bring hope to others. I wonder though how many times we have missed a story because it came from the most normal of places? Or because the story didn’t come wrapped in a pretty package or because the person telling the story didn’t understand the deeper meaning in it? 

I am not a spiritual giant at all! Lately I find that I barely pray, but I promise you, every person I come across, I look in their eyes and I wonder what their story is. I want to have enough time to sit and listen and find out more. Unfortunately when you are just passing through a line or checking in at the doctor’s office, people get irritated if you take up too much time. :) I really do recognize that each and every one of us has something to bring to the table of life though. It’s my desire that all of us recognize this in every one. The stories we hear from the least likely places may be the biggest blessings of all. 

What’s your story? Do you have one to tell? 

 

2 thoughts on “Everybody and their Stories

  1. Jen Hatmaker has said some things that really rub me the wrong way. But, she can be very funny and I think you would like her book “7 An experimental Mutiny Against Excess”. It’s at the library :)

  2. Pingback: Getting to know | Destined For Change

Leave a Reply

